Last Friday I decided that I would like to paint something very large – somewhere involving Lee Krasner, Helen Frankenthaler and Joan Mitchell… along with some Brice Marden as well. So I rolled out all my canvas and then stapled it to my wall. It ended up being about 10×8 feet. After I put on a layer of gesso I started in on it. In the beginning I painted with a long stick and a very sloppy brush… it is very freeing to not care where the paint goes. After a few layers I found myself wanting to control a bit more… or maybe extend the information that I saw in the work. So I did a couple layers closer with a smaller brush. It allowed for a very physical painting experience – involving my whole body. The work is progressed quite a bit from the state shown below, my next post will be the continuation. It feels good to work on something for many days – I think it’s been 6 or 7 years since I have worked on a piece longer than a few days. I also like that the piece keeps letting me know that it isn’t finished – that we have further to go together. Normally I would force it to be finished… but we are continuing together.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

“Inside”
Acrylic on canvas
10 x 8 feet

