Usually I know when a piece is finished. Most of the time I finish everything. It does happen that I will put a piece aside thinking it is finished, only to find out later that it isn’t. It has been a long time since I have put a piece aside knowing it’s not finished. Something about doing that used to bother me very much – I would work on it until it was done or destroyed. But in the case of this large canvas, it had to come down. I felt like we were beginning to trap each other in layers of paint. It seems to be the kind of canvas that I could work on for a very long time and right now, I have too many other ideas to be spending all my time with one piece for so long. It is now rolled up in the corner of my studio… but I think it will definitely come back out before the year is out. This is where we took our break from each other.

“Inside”
Acrylic on canvas
10 x 8 feet

