Currently, my mother and father are moving out of my childhood home and into a ranch in the country. Therefore my mother is going through 30 years of stuff at the old house. Within this treasure trove there were some art supplies that were sent to me, some of which turned out to be from a very long time ago. I used a brush in that pile to make this work – it’s a brush I had in the 4th grade. It is most likely a water color brush; it is taped together and has my name written on it in big blocky letters. It still paints really well.

In this piece I was exploring both wet paint – the energy I can get from drippy, viscous medium, and then what happens when line gets involved. I was still making some of these lines with my eyes closed, attempting to get the fluid movement of my body as I made marks. The making of it felt athletic which was a joy. As one of my critics said to me in a hushed tone, “I know you don’t pay me to say this, but that is just really $%#^ing nice to look at.” I told him that it felt that good to make too.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

“Conveyor”
5 x 2.5 feet
Acrylic, charcoal, conte and graphite on paper

