In Intersections 5 I liked working on paper on a smaller scale, so I continued with those parameters in this piece. I included oil paint on this one as well,  as I had been missing that dark, black shape. This piece was starting to become very additive – where i just add more and more materials. Apparently if you combine oil paint and charcoal you end up with a oil pastel consistency. This allowed for some stickiness and a nice tactility.  I actually scraped everything off the sheet at one point with a razor, which left me with some interesting textures. Overall though, I became somewhat frustrated with this piece in the end. It was a good reminder that you can continue and push to find what you are looking for… but sometimes it’s not ready to show itself.

Intersections 6
Oil, charcoal, graphite and colored pencil on paper
30″ x 22″

