So something happened a few days ago. I had painted this background and let it dry, sanded it down and drawn a line on it. When I walked into the studio the next day I looked at it with the intent of drawing out objects from the shapes. The shapes I assumed I would see would be regular objects in my life. The first thing I saw was a spaceship. Then a dinosaur. Then some fish. And boats. And another dinosaur. I had a moment where I said to myself, “You can’t paint those things on there!” And then I thought, “Oh really? According to who?” That who has been telling me for a long time to keep these things separate. I’m no longer interested in doing so. It turns out that this is very very fun to do. This new intersection is a place I have been trying to get to for a long time. It feels good to get there.

Intersections 09 by Heather Riley

Intersections 9
4′ x 2
Oil paint and conte on wood

